Open call: Seeking collaborators to develop the historical ecology of the European native oyster

The NORA Historical Ecology Working Group announces a call for collaborators to pull together data from scattered archives, historical news reports, naturalists reports and other sources from across the native range of the species. Expressions of interest are sought for those who might consider contributing some of their time and expertise to developing a sound quantitative and qualitative assessment of the native oyster in Europe. The project will result in at least one peer reviewed publication and short report which will in particular benefit those seeking to engage with new stakeholders for restoration, with developing funding bids, with site selection, as well as with broader outreach about the historical importance of native oysters throughout Europe.

If you are interested in finding out more about the project and what it entails, please join us for an initial introductory 1 hour call either on Tuesday 7th July 1pm CET (12 noon UK/Ire) or Friday 17th July 10.30am CET (9.30am UK/Ire). It is only necessary to attend one of the meetings. We have scheduled two meeting times in recognition of the holiday period. If you are unable to attend either call but are still interested in potentially participating, please just get in touch. 

To register for one of the introductory calls or to register your interest in the work of the Historical Ecology Working Group, please contact Dr. Ruth Thurstan at R.Thurstan@exeter.ac.uk